Tortellini alla Vodka

I’m not going to lie and say that I woke up planning to cook tortellini alla vodka… If I’m completely honest I was planning to so something much more complex, but due to timing issues I found myself unable to do so. With an urge to find something tasty and relatively quick to do, I decided upon doing Tortellini alla Vodka.

The first time I tried anything alla vodka was when my brother Graduated college this past April. I tried Pasta alla Vodka at Brio and found myself mesmerized by the incredible flavours in the dish. The ricotta-filled pasta made great contrast with the spicy and creamy tomato sauce that accompanied it and had that special kick in it.

Finding inspiration in this dish and the simplicity with which it could be done, I decided to make some Tortellini alla Vodka. The parmesan filled tortellini have an evidently saltier taste than the ricotta filled pasta I tried back in Jacksonville, however, I decided to make it work and adapt the sauce to the pasta I had. I also decided to avoid having this sauce be too heavy, and used milk instead of heavy cream

I encourage you to give this tasty dish a try!

Ingredients:

  • 8 Saladette or Pear tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 cup of vodka
  • 1/2 a cup of tomato paste
  • 1 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1 cup of basil, chopped
  • 1/2 a cup of parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of butter
  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1 table spoon of oregano
  • 1 pack of 250g of Tortellini al Fromaggio
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Extra Parmesan for garnishing

Directions:

Place a medium pot filled 3/4 with water in high heat. Salt generously and let boil. Once it has boiled, add the Tortellini and let it rest for about 16 minutes.

Place a sauce pan over medium-high heat. Add the olive oil, the oregano and about 1 tablespoon of salt and 1/2 a tablespoon of pepper. Place the chopped tomatoes and let them release their juices for about four minutes stirring continuously to avoid having them stick to the pan. Add the vodka and let simmer. Once the sauce has reduced slightly, add the milk and the water. Stir and add the tomato paste. Lower the heat and add the chopped basil. Mix well. Add the butter and the parmesan cheese and mix again. Taste and add salt and pepper to taste if necessary.

Drain the Tortellini and serve on a plate. Add the sauce and garnish with parmesan. Enjoy!

 

 

I hope you enjoy this dish plentifully, and always remember that if you have any comments or suggestions for what I can cook next, please let me know!

 

~AJ

One thought on “Tortellini alla Vodka

Leave a Reply

